July 30/31 sees the elite of British Speed Hillclimbing at Wiscombe Park for the Avon Tyres/TTC MSA British Hillclimbs championships.

This two day meeting will see the fastest car/driver combinations in the country battle to qualify for two TOP 12 Run-Offs with the excitement, speed and thrill which that entails.

(Image by Akina Media)

Current joint hill record holder Trevor Willis (OMS 28 Powertech) is currently second in the series standings and he will seeking to reduce the twenty-one point defecit to leader and five times champion Scot Moran. In turn Gould GR55 pilot Wallace Menzies, in third place, will be hoping to close the gap to Willis. One thing is assured, the Alloa driver will give of his best on the testing Devon track in an attempt to make the long journey south worthwhile.

(Image by Akina Media)

Whilst drivers will have travelled from as a field as Scotland and the Channel Islands a more local driver will enjoy great support.Honiton driver Ed Hollier has won numerous events at his 'home' hill over the years and he will enjoy the support of local hill climb enthusiasts as he takes on the the best in the country. Ed's knowledge of the hill will be of assistance as he campaigns the Empire Evo 00 developed by his father Bob.

Add in two rounds of the Bridge Tyres and Wheels Point S Wiscombe Park championship and it will be a great weekend of motor sport.


Beat the rush and get your tickets NOW.
on the word TICKET below



As befits the 500 Owners Association meeting Fastest Time of the Day was claimed by the fleet motorcycle engined Martlet ASI of Adam Steel.
Steel was never head
ed, eventually claiming overall honours with a second climb of 38.71 seconds which was just under one second faster than his first attempt. In fact the Steel/Martlet combo were alone in breaking under the 40 second mark.

Olivia and Liam Cooper battled to stay on terms with Steel with Olivia eventually defeating her other half 40.18 seconds to 40.34.


The large vintage class was won by Tony Lees aboard his AC/GN Cognac following a battle with \the Riley of Rob Cobdon and the ERA of Nicholas Topliss.

The enthusiatically driven 1948 Hornet Jap of Alistair Dent claimed the fastest time for a 500 racer with an ascent of 50.59 seconds.

Contemporary machines were also part of the meeting including the Westfield SEi Megabusa of Andrew Forsyth who claimed victory in the Road Going Saloons and Sports Car (after 1970) class on a time of 42.40 seconds.

The rapid Tommy Hodges took the motorcycle FTD aboard his Team GV Honda CRF. With a first climb of 43.55 scconds the Taunton rider improved second time out to secure the win on 42.42 seconds. 


Paul Jeffery took the win in the 750 cc division hustling his KTM SMP to the top in 43.21 seconds whilst Alex and Isaac Warren ruled supreme against the pairing of John and Isaac Warren on the family Suzuki trike. The winning margin 1.55 seconds.



If you can't get to Wiscombe you can now follow the action from your home computer via the South West Timekeepers live feed.


The service should be available at all Wiscombe events but follow the link below and, subject to a useable 3G broadband signal you will be able to see the times just after they have actually been posted at Wiscombe.



Following-on from a double victory at the start of the season Mike Lee consolidated his position as the fastest driver at Wiscombe Park with two further Fastest Times of the Day at the Torbay M.C. and Wildlife Autosport events.

A best climb of 37.06 during the Saturday meeting was not to be improved upon with the OMS 2000M pilot peaking with a time eleven hundredths of a second slower the following day.


Anthony Wright powered his effective Audi A3 to two class wins with competitive times which keep him at the top of the Bridge Tyres and Wheels Point S Wiscombe Park championship ahead of fellow double winner Andrew Forsyth. The Westfield Megabusa driver 1.47 points in arrears after four qualifiers.


Jonathan Wright occupies third place despite spinning his Volkswagen Golf GTi on the approach to The Gate during the Wildlife meeting.

Mitsubishi Evos reigned supreme in the large engine division of the Road-Going Series Production class with the Evo 6 RS of Stephen Moore taking the honours on Saturday and the Evo 4 RS of Simon Glover achieving the same twenty-four hours later.


National champion Paul Jeffery rode his KTM SMR to overall victory on the first day of the meeting with a best of 42.52 but had to give best to Tommy Hughes the next day when the Taunton rider took his Honda to the top in 41.37 seconds.



The Vintage Sportds Car Club's annual visit to Wiscombe Park is the highlight of the season for a number of enthusiasts and no wonder if when you consider the sight and sound of Tom Walker taking his 1930 Amilcar-Hispano Special to Fastest Time of the Day.

The mighty 11760 cc machine scaled the 900 metre course in 47.41 seconds. The fastest climb in the vintage category went to Tony Lees in his AC/GN Cognac just twelve hundredths in arrears of the FTD time.

In the Pre-War classes Nicholas Topliss proved fastest in his 1938 ERA 4D on 47.58 seconds.